RE at Walkern Primary School


By the time children leave Walkern, the intent of our Religious Education teaching is to:

  • help children acquire and develop knowledge and understanding of Christianity and the other principal religions represented in Great Britain
  • appreciate the way that religious beliefs shape life and our behaviour, develop the ability to make reasoned and informed judgements about religious and moral issues and enhance their spiritual, moral, social and cultural development.  


Our R.E. curriculum allows children to discover and gain an insight into religions within the world that we live. We see the teaching of R.E. as vital for children to understand others beliefs and make connections between their own values. It is our role to ensure pupils are being inquisitive by asking questions about the world around them by allowing pupils to gain high quality experiences.  


Children will have respect and understanding for different beliefs and faiths.


RE is a statutory entitlement for all pupils registered in a school. It is locally determined rather than nationally stipulated within the national curriculum, allowing for variation in local faith and belief communities. The Hertfordshire Agreed Syllabus builds on the most recent national guidance of RE including the RE Council’s Curriculum Framework for Religious Education in England.  All pupils in Hertfordshire schools follow a coherent and systematic study of the principal religion of Christianity across each key stage.  The curriculum reflects the fact that religious traditions in Britain are, in the main Christian, while taking account of the teachings and practices of the other 5 principal religions.



Children will encounter Christianity and religions and beliefs represented in the class, school or local community. RE will support and a growing sense of the child’s awareness of self, their own community their place within this.

Years 1 and 2

(a minimum of 2 religions are to be studied)

Christianity and at least one other religion

Judaism and / or Islam.

Years 3 and 4

(a minimum of 4 religions are to be studied)

Christianity and Islam (Y3)

Christianity and Hinduism and Sikhism (Y4)

Years 5 and 6

Christianity and Judaism

Christianity and Buddhism



Sequence of Learning